Public Holidays in Mauritius in 2016

Mauritius List of National Public holidays of Mauritius in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 New Years Day
Saturday January 02 Day after New Years Day
Sunday January 24 Thaipoosam Cavadee Hindu festival
Monday February 01 Abolition of Slavery
Monday February 08 Chinese Spring Festival 1st day of 1st lunar month
Monday March 07 Maha Shivaratree Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Saturday March 12 National Day
Friday April 08 Ougadi
Thursday April 14 Tamizh Puttaandu Tamil New Year. Not a public holiday in 2016
Sunday May 01 Labor Day
Wednesday July 06 Eid-Ul-Fitr End of Ramadan
Monday August 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Tuesday September 06 Ganesh Chaturthi
Sunday October 30 Diwali The Festival of Lights
Wednesday November 02 Arrival of Indentured
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day